Chic African Culture Africa Factbook

Did you know?

1. No African country names begin with the letters F, H, I, J, O, P, Q, V, W, X, or Y.

2. Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent.

3. The Republic of the Congo is one of the most urbanized countries in Africa.

What are Africa’s five smallest capital cities

What are Africa’s five smallest capital cities
What is a capital city and how is it chosen? Africa’s Five Smallest Countries and their capital capital cities are the Republic of Seychelles capital city of Victoria, São Tomé and Príncipe Sao Tomé is the capital city, Mauritius capital city of Port Luis, Comoros capital city of Maroni, and Cabo Verde Sao Tiago Island is the location of the capital of Praia.

Market day in Ghana capital city Accra
Market day in Ghana capital city Accra

Africa’s five smallest capital capital cities

Africa has 54 countries, 2 unofficially recognized territories and 10 dependent territories. Officially according to the African Union, Africa has 54 countries with Algeria being the largest and The Gambia the smallest on the mainland and Seychelles the smallest overall. Seychelles is 175 sq miles, 455 sq. km, or 112432 acres.

What is a Capital City?

The word capital originates from the Latin capitalis, meaning of the head. This is where government buildings are and where government leaders work. As the city at the head of the territory, it is linked to the state, the politics of a capital city is not unique to the national capital but it also exists at all levels of government. For that reason, many capitals are built in the center of countries as they need to be seen as representative and accessible to the entire state. Capital cities focus legislative power in a single location rather than spread out across a state. In some countries, there are capital cities that serve as capitals and seats of government.

What is a Seat of Government?

The seat of government is the building, complex of buildings or the city from which a government exercises its authority. In most countries, the nation’s capital is also seat of its government, thus that city is appropriately referred to as the national seat of government. The terms are not however, completely synonymous, as some countries' seat of government differs from the capital.

How Did Africa’s Newest Country of South Sudan Choose Juba as the Capital?

The Ceasefire Joint Military Committee and the Headquarters of the Joint Integrated Units were agreed by the Parties of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement to be located in Juba. During the drafting of the Interim Constitution of Southern Sudan, the issue of the capital city was one of the issues discussed by the Drafting Committee with Dr. John Garang de Mabior.

On September 7, 2011, the President of the newly born Republic of South Sudan, Salva Kiir Mayardit, issued an order forming a governmental committee to make the necessary preparations for the building of the new capital to be known as Ramciel Union.

Before his death in a plane crash July 30, 2005, Dr. Garang commissioned a technical committee to conduct a feasibility study for the new capital of South Sudan. Ramciel was identified as potential site for the new capital city as it lies between the three greater regions of the South, Bahr el Ghazal, Equatoria, and Upper Nile.

Officials say the uncertainty in the town had made access to land difficult to the national government, the ordinary people, as well as the investors that they said, had hampered the prospect for development in the area. Ramciel which officials say means, where rhinos meet in the two slightly different Dinka words, has almost no infrastructure, no towns, and only a few seasonal villages. To date, no further steps have been made to move the capital of South Sudan from Juba to Ramciel.

Africa’s Five Smallest Countries and their capital Capital Cities

Is the smallest African country; the constitution of the Republic of Seychelles lists 155 islands: 42 granitic and 113 coralline; by far the largest island is Mahe, which is home to about 90% of the population and the site of the capital city of Victoria.

São Tomé and Príncipe
Sao Tomé, the capital city, has roughly a quarter of the nation's population; Santo Antonio is the largest town on Principe; the northern areas of both islands have the highest population density.

The population is found through the main island with a greater density in and around the capital city of Port Luis.

The capital city of Maroni, located on the western side of the island of Grande Comore, is the country's largest city; however, of the three islands that comprise Comoros, it is Anjouan that is the most densely populated.

Cabo Verde
Nine inhabited islands out of 18, around half of the population lives on Sao Tiago Island, which is the location of the capital of Praia.

Africa is surrounded by water but is not an island, here are a few African Island facts.

Madagascar is the 4th large island in the world and is located in the Indian Ocean supporting a unique biology, about 90% of its plants and animals are found nowhere else on earth.

Composed of 155 islands, Seychelles is Africa's smallest country. By far the largest island is Mahe, home to about 90% of the population and the site of its capital city of Victoria.

Cabo Verde has a strategic location 310 miles or 500 km from the west coast of Africa near major north-south sea routes; important communications station; important sea and air refueling site.

Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent. Continents can not be considered islands because of their size and also by historic definition since many people who study geography define islands and continents as two different things.

This Week’s Best Posts and Pages

Instruction in youth is like engraving in stone

Using Amen and Ashe or Ase

What is the difference between ugali and fufu

Top 20 Largest Countries in Africa

African cultures express, encourage, and communicate energy

Support African History and Culture

Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet are dedicated to discovering, collecting and sharing African history and heritage celebrating 14 years of service in 2021. Share and support in the pride of being part of an important cultural and educational resource.

Being African in America I have grown up learning about different ethnic cultures. My father and mother are historians of African culture and history and their influence expanded my activities to several best-selling cookbooks, magazine columns, self-branded products, and a popular African culture and food blog.

Chic African Culture

Be better than average and support African history and culture. Since 2008 Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet highlight Africa through her food and culture. Contact us

More LOVE from Africa to Read About