Chic African Culture Africa Factbook

Did you know?

1. No African country names begin with the letters F, H, I, J, O, P, Q, V, W, X, or Y.

2. Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent.

3. The Republic of the Congo is one of the most urbanized countries in Africa.

What were the first areas to be settled in Tanzania

The first areas to be settled in Tanzania Mara region were naturally those along the shoreline of Lake Victoria where gold, food and water are plentiful.

Mara Region of Tanzania Land, People, and Gold History.

The dominant ethnic groups of the Mara region are the Wakurya, Wajaluo and Wajita.

Mara is one of Tanzania Mainland’s northernmost regions filled with gold. The Mara region is estimated to have nearly 2 million as of 2016. The population density is 61 people per kilometer or .6 miles.

The United Republic of Tanzania was formed by the union, in 1964, of the newly independent state of Tanganyika and the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba-is the largest country in East Africa and the second-largest producer of cattle in all of Africa, after Ethiopia.

A German possession from 1891 to 1918, during which time it was known as German East Africa, Tanganyika was administered as a mandated territory by Great Britain-first under the League of Nations, and then, from 1945 onward, the United Nations Trusteeship Council, which replaced it-from 1918 until the achievement of independence by Tanganyika in 1961.

Two years later, the Indian Ocean island of Zanzibar also achieved independence from Britain, and Tanganyika merged with Zanzibar and Pemba to form the United Republic of Tanzania in 1964.  Mara Region has a large area of about 30,150 square miles.

Mara region borders the Republic of Uganda and Kenya in the north, Arusha region to the east, Shinyanga region in the south, Mwanza region in the southwest and Kagera in the west over the waters of Lake Victoria. Out of the area, 10,942 square meters is a water area equivalent to 36 percent and 19,208 Kilometers equivalent to 64 percent is a dry area of ​​the country.

In the dry area of ​​the country, 7,258 square miles are located in wildlife reserves, including the National Park Serengeti, Ikorongo Reservoir and Grants and Social Parks Grateti and Ikorongo. Removing the Region area remains 11,950 square kilometers for agriculture, livestock, and housing. The region is in line with the Kenyan State in the North, Kagera Region in the Western, Mwanza and Simiyu Region in the south and the Arusha Region in the East.

Mara Region's name is derived from the Mara River, which originated in neighboring Kenya areas and streamed its waters through Serengeti, Tarime, Rural District to Lake Victoria. The Mara River, which flows into Lake Victoria, is the boundary between Tarime and Serengeti districts, and the Ngoreme, who live in Serengeti District, wade across to search for gold on the Nyamongo side.

Gold mining
Gold mining

To earn cash income by engaging in small-scale, low-technology gold mining in any one of the half-dozen ore-rich mining areas close by. The British-operated Mara Mine, where Kuria miners began working for wages in the early 1930s, is defunct now; it is crumbling stone buildings, which once housed miners.

Part of the Lake Victoria Goldfield, the North Mara Gold Mine, opened in 2002, is a Gokona underground and Nyabirama open-pit gold mine in the Tarime District of the Mara Region of Tanzania. It is located near the Kenyan Border, 200 km NE of Mwanza and is one of three gold mines Acacia Mining operates in Tanzania.

The North Mara gold deposits are situated in the Mara Musoma greenstone belt. There are several types of gold mineralization including shear-zone-related quartz vein and disseminated gold.

Acacia, and its predecessor companies, including African Barrick Gold, Barrick Gold, Placer Dome, Pangea Minerals and Afrika Mashariki have been operating in Tanzania for nearly 20 years with three gold-producing mines, Bulyanhulu, Buzwagi and North Mara, all located in the north-west region of the country.

Since the gold and copper concentrate export ban was imposed on March 3, 2017, Acacia announced the decision to reduce operational activity at Bulyanhulu Gold Mine on September 4, 2017. Talks between Barrick Gold Corporation and Tanzanian Government is still ongoing. As a result, Bulyanhulu mine production was solely from the tailings retreatment facility at a rate of around 35,000 ounces a year.

The dominant ethnic groups of the Mara region are the Wakurya, Wajaluo and Wajita. The Wakurya are dominant in Tarime and Serengeti districts while in Musoma and Bunda the Wajita dominants. The Wajaluo are dominant in Tarime along with the Kurya.

The region’s ethnic picture is also characterized by many very small tribes such as the Wazanaki, Wasuba, Waikizu, Waisenye, Waikoma, Wangoreme, Wakwaya, Waluli, Washashi etc. which are virtually indistinguishable language-wise from one another.

The Region is divided into six districts of Musoma, Butiama, Bunda, Serengeti, Tarime and Rorya and Ten Councils Bunda, Butiama, Musoma, Musoma Municipal, Rorya, Bunda City, Serengeti, Tarime, Tarime City, Mugumu-Minor City. 

In 1947, however, North Mara was declared a separate district, and, in 1973, the name North Mara was changed to Tarime District. Geographically, the district divides readily into three distinct zones, the Tarime highlands, or uplands; the plateau, or midlands; and the Mara River valley, or lowlands.

Getting to Know more about Africa
African Country Names Your Saying Wrong

What do Waist Beads Symbolize in Africa?

About African Healers and Witchdoctors

Hurricanes are Angry African Ancestors

Highest Temperature and Lowest Temperature in Africa

About African Night Running

Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet=

Africa is surrounded by water but is not an island, here are a few African Island facts.

Madagascar is the 4th large island in the world and is located in the Indian Ocean supporting a unique biology, about 90% of its plants and animals are found nowhere else on earth.

Composed of 155 islands, Seychelles is Africa's smallest country. By far the largest island is Mahe, home to about 90% of the population and the site of its capital city of Victoria.

Cabo Verde has a strategic location 310 miles or 500 km from the west coast of Africa near major north-south sea routes; important communications station; important sea and air refueling site.

Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent. Continents can not be considered islands because of their size and also by historic definition since many people who study geography define islands and continents as two different things.

This Week’s Best Posts and Pages

African Food Culture from Jollof to Injera

Rising Above the Dust the World of Evala Wrestling

What is the difference between ugali and fufu

Bike Life in The Gambia

African cultures express, encourage, and communicate energy

Support African History and Culture

Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet are dedicated to discovering, collecting and sharing African history and heritage celebrating 14 years of service in 2021. Share and support in the pride of being part of an important cultural and educational resource.

Being African in America I have grown up learning about different ethnic cultures. My father and mother are historians of African culture and history and their influence expanded my activities to several best-selling cookbooks, magazine columns, self-branded products, and a popular African culture and food blog.

Chic African Culture

Be better than average and support African history and culture. Since 2008 Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet highlight Africa through her food and culture. Contact us

More LOVE from Africa to Read About