Chic African Culture Blog

Did you know?

1. No African country names begin with the letters F, H, I, J, O, P, Q, V, W, X, or Y.

2. Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent.

3. African tech startups raise billions of dollars annually, seven African start-ups were included in the World Economic Forum 2021 cohort of 100 Technology Pioneers: 54gene, mPharma, Cambridge Industries, FlexFinTx, Kuda, Moringa School and Sokowatch.

African independence mainly took place in the 1960s

African independence is the liberating attitude of being able to survive alone, freedom from the control of a foreign nation, having the choice to govern your country by your own people after centuries of being a foreign colony.

African independence, which mainly took place in the 1960s, meant indigenous Africans were finally able to exercise self-government over the territory in which their ancestors, ancestors lived riding the continent of the relics of colonization and apartheid.

On September 9, 1999, 54 African countries, in their quest for unity, economic and social development called for the establishment of an African Union.

The vision of the African Union is that of an integrated, prosperous and peaceful Africa, driven by its own citizens and representing a dynamic force in the global arena.

African Union Flag
African Union Flag

Listing in alphabetical order of 54 African Independence Dates

Algeria July 1962 from France

Angola November 1975 from Portugal

Botswana September 1966 from Britain

Burkina Faso August 1960 from France

Burundi July 1962 from UN trusteeship under Belgian administration

Cameroon January 1960 from French-administered UN trusteeship

Cape Verde July 1975 from Portugal

The Central African Republic August 1960 from France

Chad August 1960 from France

Congo, the Democratic Republic of the June 1960 from Belgium

Congo, Republic of the August 1960 from France

Cote d'Ivoire August 1960 from France

Djibouti June 1977 from France

Egypt February 1922 from UK protectorate status; the revolution that began on 23 July 1952 led to a republic being declared on 18 June 1953 and all British troops withdrawn on 18 June 1956; note - it was ca. 3200 B.C. that the Two Lands of Upper southern and Lower northern Egypt were first united politically

Eritrea May 1993 from Ethiopia

Ethiopia oldest independent country in Africa and one of the oldest in the world - at least 2,000 years may be traced to the Aksumite Kingdom, which coalesced in the first century B.C.

Gabon August 1960 from France

The Gambia February 1965 from Britain

Ghana March 1957 from Britain

Guinea-Bissau September 1973 declared; 10 September 1974 from Portugal

Kenya December 1963 from Britain

Lesotho October 1966 from Britain

Liberia July 1847

Libya December 1951 from UN trusteeship

Madagascar June 1960 from France

Malawi July 1964 from Britain

Mauritius March 1968 from Britain

Morocco March 1956 from France

Mozambique June 1975 from Portugal

Namibia March 1990 from South African mandate

Niger August 1960 from France

Nigeria October 1960 from Britain

Rwanda July 1962 from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship

Sao Tome and Principe July 1975 from Portugal

Senegal April 1960 from France; note - complete independence achieved upon dissolution of federation with Mali on 20 August 1960

Seychelles June 1976 from Britain

Sierra Leone April 1961 from Britain.

Somalia July 1960 from a merger of British Somaliland that became independent from Britain on 26 June 1960 and Italian Somaliland that became independent from the Italian-administered UN trusteeship on 1 July 1960 to form the Somali Republic.

South Africa May 1910 Union of South Africa formed from four British colonies: Cape Colony, Natal, Transvaal, and Orange Free State; 31 May 1961 republic declared; 27 April 1994 majority rule.

Sudan January 1956 from Egypt and the UK.

Southern Sudan Formal independence on July 9, 2011, from Sudan.

Former Swaziland now eSwatini September 1968 from Britain.

Tanzania April 1964; Tanganyika became independent on 9 December 1961 from UK-administered UN trusteeship; Zanzibar became independent on 19 December 1963 from the UK; Tanganyika united with Zanzibar April 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar; renamed the United Republic of Tanzania on 29 October 1964.

Togo April 1960 from French-administered UN trusteeship.

Tunisia March 1956 from France.

Uganda October 1962 from Britain.

Zambia October 1964 from Britain.

Zimbabwe April 1980 from Britain.

African Union Emblem Meaning
African Union Emblem Explained

Explaining the African Union Emblem.

Palm leaves means peace.

Gold circle Africa’s wealth and bright future.

Green circle African hopes and aspirations.

The plain map of Africa without boundaries in the inner circle signifies African unity.

Small red rings African solidarity and the blood shed for the liberation of Africa.

Five facts about African independence dates
African independence mainly took place in the 1960s.
Between January and December of 1960, 17 sub-Saharan African nations, including 14 former French colonies, gained independence from their former European colonists.
By 1968 those territories under direct British rule became Lesotho, Botswana, and Swaziland, and Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland became Zambia and Malawi.
The longest, most divided, and bloodiest wars against colonialism in the subcontinent occurred in the Portuguese colonies. War lasted from 1961-1974.
Freedom Day is a South African national day celebrated on April 27 every year celebrating freedom and the first post-apartheid elections held on that day in 1994.

Read Next About: The Dark Continent has two meanings
Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet=


Africa is surrounded by water but is not an island, here are a few African Island facts.

Madagascar is the 4th large island in the world and is located in the Indian Ocean supporting a unique biology, about 90% of its plants and animals are found nowhere else on earth.

Composed of 155 islands, Seychelles is Africa's smallest country. By far the largest island is Mahe, home to about 90% of the population and the site of its capital city of Victoria.

Cabo Verde has a strategic location 310 miles or 500 km from the west coast of Africa near major north-south sea routes; important communications station; important sea and air refueling site.

Africa is surrounded by water but by definition Africa is not an island because Africa is a continent. Continents can not be considered islands because of their size and also by historic definition since many people who study geography define islands and continents as two different things.

This Week’s Best Posts and Pages

South African Beef Curry Recipe

Using Amen and Ashe or Ase

Top ten African countries with the most Gold Olympic medals

Nature Holds Many Secrets | Hurricanes, Angry African Ancestors

African cultures express, encourage, and communicate energy

Support African History and Culture

Chic African Culture and The African Gourmet are dedicated to discovering, collecting and sharing African history and heritage celebrating 14 years of service in 2021. Share and support in the pride of being part of an important cultural and educational resource.

Being African in America I have grown up learning about different ethnic cultures. My father and mother are historians of African culture and history and their influence expanded my activities to several best-selling cookbooks, magazine columns, self-branded products, and a popular African culture and food blog.

Chic African Culture

Be better than average and support African history and culture.