Explore and Understand Africa Through Her Food and Culture

If you like honey, fear not the bees. -African Proverb

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

Where are the Pepper, Ivory, Gold and Slave Coast of Africa

Foreign overseas traders and exporters solely according to the business and trade economies roughly divided Africa into four coasts; Pepper Coast, Ivory Coast, Gold Coast and the Slave Coast.

Pepper Coast, Ivory Coast, Gold Coast and the Slave Coast of Africa

French and Portuguese explorers in the early 16th century divided the countries of the west coast Africa into four coasts according to the trade economy, the Ivory Coast, Grain Coast or Pepper Coast, Gold Coast, and Slave Coast.

Ivory Coast

The French named the Côte d'Ivoire literally means Ivory Coast. Côte d'Ivoire was unofficially known as Costa do Marfim by the Portuguese, côte des dents or the teeth coast and the Ivory Coast reflecting the trade in ivory.
Pepper Coast, Ivory Coast, Gold Coast and the Slave Coast of Africa

Grain Coast

The Grain Coast, Malaguetta Coast or Pepper Coast is the former name of a part of the Atlantic coast that is roughly identical with the coast of modern Liberia.

Gold Coast

The Gold Coast was the former unofficial name for present-day Ghana in West Africa.  The Gold Coast is so called because it was an important source of gold for the British, Portuguese, and Dutch traders.  

Slave Coast

The Slave Coast is a historical name formerly used for parts of coastal West Africa from present-day Nigeria, Togo, and along the Bight of Benin. The Slave Coast was a major source of African slaves during the transatlantic slave trade from the16th to 19th century largely by the British, French, Portuguese, and Spanish. 

Share this page

Trending Now

Did you know?

The eye never forgets what the heart has seen - African Proverb